Get Your Vote On

March 5, 2010 at 11:50 am 4 comments

Chances are, if you read my blog regularly, you are connected to adoption in some way. That in mind, I ask you to take a minute or so from your busy life to sign this petition at change.org to return adult adoptees the right to their original birth certificates.

I don’t talk about them that much because they don’t apply to me personally since Korea doesn’t have birth certificates anyway. But the denial of original birth certificates to adopted adults in America is unjust and should not be allowed. I personally feel that it goes against all of the civil liberties that the United States stands for. I believe it’s wrong for adult citizens to not have access to birth records due to “confidentiality” of other adults.

In addition to the fact that denial of birth certificates is unfair and discriminatory, since the Patriot Act went into place after 9/11, some adoptees have faced difficulty getting passports or other documentation because their birth certificates are amended.  Can you imagine not being able to go on vacation, to visit family, or on a honeymoon because you are LEGALLY not allowed to get a certain piece of paper? Millions of adopted persons around the country live with that reality every day.

Please go to change.org and sign your name in support of adult adoptees having access to their birth records. Be against discrimination of ANY kind.

The ten petitions with the most votes will be presented to President Obama, so we need all of the votes we can get! Post this to your blog, twitter, or facebook. Email to your friends. Ask them to vote and stand behind all of the Americans who deserve their records.

Entry filed under: adoption. Tags: , , .

Adoption Quiz Time Teen Mom

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beckett Franklin Gray  |  March 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. :o)

    I have a chapter in my book devoted to the voice of Korean adult adoptees. Currently, I am compiling another book. If you are interested in contributing I would be honored.

    There is certainly alot for an adoptive parent to understand from experience.

    Reply
  • 2. thandi  |  August 10, 2010 at 9:13 am

    I’m not part of the adoption triad at all. But I did read your blog from start to finish.You’ve totally got me hooked on finding your Nmom. I hope you’re ok and your silence isn’t because you’re ill or something bad.Wishing you all the best with the wedding and the decision to find her (or not.)

    Reply
    • 3. kateiskate  |  August 10, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      Thank you for your kind words Thandi! I appreciate it.
      My silence has mostly been because I’ve been so busy lately. Wedding planning has taken a lot out of me! I hope to be posting more soon!

      -Katie

      Reply
  • 4. Alicia  |  March 10, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    I am adopted as well. I live in Canada and was able to use a provincial government program to locate my biological mother. After meeting her I was able to get enough information to locate my biological father. A year after connecting with my biological mother and father this provincial program was cut. I feel so bad for those who have been apart of closed or private adoptions trying to find information to locate their biological parents and/or family.

    On another note. After meeting them I still feel this sense of loss and disconnect. It was nice to get some medical information and sit across from them and see myself in their features and behaviours, etc. But I still have this void inside of me. I hope that one day I will finally find what I am searching for.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 12,721 hits

I made this widget at MyFlashFetish.com.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


