The Stigma is Still Strong

October 24, 2009 at 7:38 pm 1 comment

I just wanted to share this article that was in the New York Times about the stigma against unwed mothers in Korea. The little bit of information I have about my natural mom, was that she was a single woman involved in an affair with coworker. Here in America, I think a lot of women might choose to keep and raise their baby. But in Korea, even in 2009, the stigma against unwed mothers persists. This makes it difficult for them to obtain and keep jobs or find places to live. These women face discrimination and ostracization from their friends and families.

This article highlights the difficult times that force 70 percent of unwed Korean moms to relinquish their children for adoption.

Check it out and tell me what you think.

Entry filed under: adoption, International Adoption, Mothers.

How Will I Look When I Get Old? My Silence on National Adoption Month

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rebekah  |  November 13, 2009 at 8:08 am

    Katie. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. I am so sorry if any of my words or the words of others on my blog hurt you. Certainly we never intended to do so. It makes me so sad that you dont know your birthmom and that you feel you were not good enough for her to keep. I dont know your birth mom (of course) but I am a birth mom and I can tell you with all certainty that my relinquishment of my son was not because he wasnt good enough. I dont know if you are a mother yet, if you are not then someday you might be and you will then understand how much work having a baby is. Dont get me wrong, having a baby is wonderful and joyful and actually having my babies are the happiest times of my life…but its more then that. I have plenty of love to give Ty. My love for him and all my children is endless, but to raise a child takes more then love. I am hoping that someday you can come to understand what I am talking about. I made mistakes. I should have never got pregnant out of marriage and I make no excuses for my behavior…I just didnt feel like my son needed to go without (as well as my other kids) the things he would desperatly need growing up. If you ever want to talk or know more then please email me privatly if you would like. Again, I never ment to hurt you.
    Rebekah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 12,720 hits

I made this widget at MyFlashFetish.com.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


