An Update on My Search

August 5, 2009 at 12:35 pm 2 comments

I haven’t had much time to post lately. I’ve been treading the murky waters that is relationship drama. I just thought I would send off a short little post just to update anyone who reads here on my search progress.

I wrote before about not having the money to spend on my adoption papers from my agency. Unfortunately, my money situation has not changed much, and while I am paying off my debts, I desperately need to save for a car.

I did not send the money order back. I cashed it and stuck in my savings. Good thing I did too, because now I need it to bail myself out of yet another financial jam. It seems that reading books underneath my desk in math class has not served me well at all.

Although it may seem that my search stopped there, I did email GOAL asking them to help me get paperwork from Holt in Korea. I thinking that paperwork holds much more valuable information than the paperwork held ransom by my adoption agency. My only worry when I get that paperwork, is how to get it translated into English by someone I trust.

So for now, I’m waiting.

Entry filed under: International Adoption, Search, Transracial Adoption.

Financial Difficulty… Papers….Not

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mei-Ling  |  August 8, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I’m not sure if you’ve read about girl4708’s “adventures” in obtaining her info from HOLT or if you’ve heard about Jane Jeong Trenka’s info obstacles… but HOLT isn’t known for being particularly reliable about releasing info.

    “I did email GOAL asking them to help me get paperwork from Holt in Korea.”

    It took girl4708 5 months before she was allowed to even see one piece of paper regarding her birth, and even then, much of the information was falsified. They changed her name, her age, and said she was an orphan. I don’t know if you’ve kept up-to-date with her blog, but she recently noticed another person mentioned on her paper – Kim Sook Ja.

    HOLT says Kim Sook Ja is younger by 6 months when in fact the pictures indicate girl4708 is younger. Kim Sook Ja – judging by the pics – looks like she’s 2.5, maybe just on the cusp of being 3? They also say Kim Sook Ja has no relation to girl4708 – then why is she listed? They say it’s because the names are different. BUT girl4708’s name on the papers isn’t her original family name either – it was given to her by the orphanage.

    Likewise, Jane was a fabricated orphan. Her age was changed. Actually you should go check out her blog and read her Adoption File section – it analyses every detail.

    In a nutshell: HOLT does several fabrications of truth and lies; the extent of the lie just depends on the person who did the paperwork that day.

    So be careful when you go for information – HOLT seems to want to make Korean adoptees’ searches as difficult as humanly possible. Get ready for a long, hard task…

    Reply
  • 2. kateiskate  |  August 10, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Yeah…I’ve read both of their blogs.

    I wish I had another choice in getting what I need. Hopefully if GOAL is willing to mediate for me, I can get what I need.

    I wish this was easier.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 12,723 hits

I made this widget at MyFlashFetish.com.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


