An Inaugral Post

December 29, 2008 at 9:35 pm 1 comment

I don’t know if I can find words to fill this blog. Writer’s block has often plagued me as I sat staring blankly at the screen, practically willing it to give me the answers. I’ve sorted through my words trying to find the right ones that match, struggling to put two together as if looking for a pair of shoes on a morning I’m running late. I’ve tried to think of stories worth telling, wracked my brain for sentences worth writing. I want to write something important. I want to write something that means something to someone.

 

When I was a teenager I wrote short stories filled with romance, lust, love, betrayal and angst. All things I had never really known. The heroine of the story was always a beautiful white girl and her romantic interest was always someone with rough edges who she managed to change just by being her wonderful self in his presence. They were all extremely similar in the way that the heroine most likely met her tragic end, only to leave the hero pining for her years after her demise.These stories were all highly unrealistic and dramatic, the kind of things only someone extremely hormonal and teenage could craft.  Eventually my mom decided she didn’t want me to keep writing the same story. I guess she thought it wasn’t mentally healthy to write such depressing stories.  She finally told me I wasn’t allowed to write about romance anymore. “There will be plenty of time for that” she said. “Write about what you know.”

 

“But I don’t know anything,” I said. “I’m not going to have anything to write about!”

 

It’s taken me a long time to come back to writing, but I am finally going to take her advice.

 

I will write about what I know.

 

I will write about my truth

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

An ODD Child

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. adoptedcricket  |  December 31, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Several years ago, my asister told me that I should write a book…and I said the same thing to her..”I’m not going to have anything to write about!”..and she wisely said the same thing to me that your mom said to you. That’s what my blog is for…the beginning of my book..my story..and my truth. We’ll muddle through our demons together, my friend. You’re off to a great start!

    ~ElenaKatherine from the boards

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 12,721 hits

I made this widget at MyFlashFetish.com.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


